Maritime Academy Trust

Maritime is a charitable education trust with schools across London and the South East.

Visit Us

Term Dates & School Day

Start and end of day timings:

8.45am

School gates open and children go straight into their classrooms. 

12:00 - 1:00pm

Lunch breaks (staggered for different ages)

3:25pm

End of school day

An example day for our EYFS pupils:

  • Dough Disco activity on the carpet
  • small group phonics session
  • whole-class literacy session e.g. reading the class book and retelling the story in order
  • continuous provision session - children exploring and engaging with the range of activities available and staff working alongside them
  • literacy focus task with an adult e.g. writing sentences to match the beginning, middle and end of a story
  • snack time
  • continuous provision session, including using outside learning area
  • lunch break - playtime followed by lunch together in the hall
  • whole-class maths session e.g. saying what is one more and one less than a given number by using a number line
  • continuous provision session, including adult-focused task such as painting a self-portrait or completing a roleplay activity
  • maths focus task with an adult e.g. solving additions by putting together groups of objects
  • whole-class topic session e.g. talking about the changes that are taking place due to the change of season

An example day for our KS1 and KS2 pupils:

  • Early Morning Task e.g. writing a mini setting description using adjectives and similes
  • Phonics or Shared Reading 
  • Writing, Grammar or Spelling lesson
  • Morning break
  • Maths lesson
  • Whole School and Key Stage Assemblies
  • Lunch break
  • Science Investigations
  • History and Geography 

Term Dates 2023-24

Term One

School INSET: Thursday 31st August and Friday 1st September 2023

Term Time: Monday 4th September to Friday 20th October 2023 - Please note the 4th, 5th and 6th September for Nursery, Reception and Year 1 will be home visit days and they will return to school on Thursday 7th September. 

Half-Term Holiday: Monday 23rd October - Friday 3rd November 2023

Term Two

Term Time: Monday 6th November to Friday 22nd December 2023

Christmas and New Year Holiday: Monday 25th December 2023 – Friday 5th January 2023

Term Three 

School INSET: Monday 8th January 2024

Term Time: Tuesday 9th January to Friday 9th February 2024

Half-Term Holiday: Monday 12th February – Friday 16th February 2024

Term Four

Term Time: Monday 19th February to Thursday 28th March 2024

Easter Holiday: Friday 29th March – Friday 12th April 2024

Term Five

Term Time: Tuesday 16th April to Friday 24th May 2024 (except May Day bank holiday on Monday 6th May)

Half-Term Holiday: Monday 27th May – Friday 31st May 2024

Term Six

Term Time: Monday 3rd June to Wednesday 24th July 2024

 

Term dates for 2024/25

Bad Weather Advice

It is always our aim to keep the school open. However there may be times when severe weather conditions make it unsafe for travel or the premises unsafe for children and adults in which case  the school may need to be closed.

If we need to close the school due to hazardous conditions we will text all parents to let them know in advance of school opening.